How to delete your Uber account - KCTV5 News

How to delete your Uber account

Posted:
By Kailla Coomes


Content Provided by  

uber jobs wages png

Uber’s rise to rideshare fame has been fraught with PR nightmares. The company has tried to hold onto its customers by buying the bike-sharing service Jump, and even adding a panic button to its app for U.S. customers. But if you are still not convinced that Uber is right for you, we are going to show you how to say goodbye once and for all.

It’s relatively easy to figure out how to delete your Uber account, but there is a catch. You can only deactivate your account at first, but after 30 days of inactivity, your account will be permanently deleted by Uber’s tech team.

How to delete Uber via the app

Step 1: Launch the app, and make sure you’re signed in to your account.

Step 2: At the top left of the screen, tap on the menu icon.

how to delete your uber account

Step 3: Once the menu pops up, tap Settings.

how to delete your uber account ubersettings

Step 4: Then tap, Privacy Settings.

how to delete your uber account uberprivacysettings

Step 5: Then tap Delete Your Account.

how to delete your uber account uberdeleteaccount

Step 6: Uber will ask you to verify your password, type it in and press Verify.

how to delete your uber account uberverifypassword

Step 7: You will then get sent to a page where Uber tells you your account will be deactivated and, in 30 days, it will be deleted. It will also show you how many rides you have taken with Uber. To finish up the process, click Continue.

how to delete your uber account deleteuber
how to delete your uber account continuetodeleteuber

Step 8: You will also be asked to share details on why you chose to delete your Uber account. It’s no longer necessary to fill this form out, but if you want to share your grievances about the company, then feel free to let it all out. Once you are done, tap Cancel.

Step 9: Uber then gives you one more chance to opt out of canceling, click Delete to make it permanent.

how to delete your uber account finaluberdelete

Uber is currently only allowing you to delete your account from the app, but if you are having trouble deleting your app, here is how to request help from Uber on your desktop.

How to request help from Uber

Step 1: Go through Uber’s help page to delete your account, and scroll to the bottom of the page and click I was unable to delete my account.

how to delete your uber account deleteuberdesktop

Step 2: You will be directed to another page and at the bottom of the screen click Sign in to get help. If you are already signed in, then skip down to Step 4.

how to delete your uber account uberdeletedesktop

Step 3: Enter your email or phone number and click Next. You will then be asked to put in your password and if you have never signed in to your Uber account on your web browser, then Uber might make you verify your account via text, and ask if you are a robot.

how to delete your uber account

Step 4: Once you are logged in, it will take you back to the I was unable to delete my account screen, you can then type in the issue you are having and click Submit.

how to delete your uber account uberdesktop

Uber will eventually respond and hopefully assist you in deleting your account, but in the meantime,you can startmoving onto something new.


  helps readers keep tabs on the fast-paced world of tech with all the latest news, fun product reviews, insightful editorials, and one-of-a-kind sneak peeks.

Powered by Frankly
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:
KCTV  KSMO

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.