Anne Applebaum's Red Famine Wins the 2018 Lionel Gelber Prize - KCTV5

Anne Applebaum's Red Famine Wins the 2018 Lionel Gelber Prize

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. Frankly and this Site make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you are affiliated with this page and would like it removed please contact

SOURCE The Lionel Gelber Prize

TORONTO and WASHINGTON, March 13, 2018 /PRNewswire/ - Patricia Rubin, Chair of the Lionel Gelber Prize Board and niece of the late Lionel Gelber, today announced that the winner of the 28th annual Lionel Gelber Prize is Anne Applebaum for her book Red Famine: Stalin's War on Ukraine, published by Signal/McClelland & Stewart/Penguin Random House.

Anne Applebaum has won the 2018 Lionel Gelber Prize for her book Red Famine: Stalin’s War on Ukraine (Photo credit: James Kegley) (CNW Group/The Lionel Gelber Prize)

"Anne Applebaum's Red Famine: Stalin's War on Ukraine is the gripping story of the famine the Soviet leadership induced in Ukraine. This beautifully written history speaks to one of the most important global issues. Famines, then and now, are never the result of natural causes only; they are also the result of deliberate choices that leaders make. This is a magnificent book about a globally important issue that everyone should read," said Jury Chair Janice Stein

Anne Applebaum will appear in Toronto at the Munk School of Global Affairs to give a free public lecture and receive her award on Tuesday, April 17, 2018.

About the Winner: Anne Applebaum is a columnist for The Washington Post, a Professor of Practice at the London School of Economics, and a contributor to The New York Review of Books. Her previous books include Iron Curtain, winner of the Cundill Prize and a finalist for the Lionel Gelber Prize and the National Book Award, and Gulag, winner of the Pulitzer Prize in General Non-Fiction and a finalist for three other major prizes. She lives in Poland with her husband Radek Sikorski, a Polish politician, and their three children.

About the Jury: Janice Gross Stein, Jury Chair (Toronto, Canada) is joined by distinguished jurors Ramachandra Guha (Bengaluru, India), Desmond King (Oxford, England), David M. Malone (Tokyo, Japan), and Jeannette Money (California, USA).

About the Lionel Gelber Prize: A literary award for the world's best non-fiction book in English on foreign affairs that seeks to deepen public debate on significant international issues, the Lionel Gelber Prize was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. The award is presented annually by The Lionel Gelber Foundation, in partnership with Foreign Policy magazine and the Munk School of Global Affairs. A cash prize of $15,000 is awarded to the winner. Facebook | Twitter @gelberprize

©2017 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Frankly
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.