Federal disaster declaration approved for Kansas’ winter storm d - KCTV5 News

Federal disaster declaration approved for Kansas’ winter storm damage

Posted: Updated:
(AP Photo/Andrew Harnik) (AP Photo/Andrew Harnik)

President Donald Trump has granted Governor Sam Brownback’s request for a federal disaster declaration for 27 Kansas counties affected by winter weather.

The areas were affected by a severe winter storm, a snowstorm, straight-line winds and flooding between April 28 and May 3. Brownback submitted his request on May 31.

Counties named in the declaration are: Cherokee, Cheyenne, Crawford, Decatur, Finney, Gove, Graham, Grant, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Kearny, Lane, Logan, Morton, Neosho, Norton, Rawlins, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stanton, Stevens, Thomas, Wallace, and Wichita. 

Additional designations may be made at a later time if the state requests them and they are warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The declaration allows county governments to apply for Public Assistance funds for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. It also activates the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program statewide for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property.

Copyright 2017 KCTV (Meredith Corp.) All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.