Third Emilia Cruz Police Procedural Released by Mystery Series Author Carmen Amato - KCTV5

Third Emilia Cruz Police Procedural Released by Mystery Series Author Carmen Amato

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact

SOURCE Carmen Amato

'Diablo Nights' takes Acapulco Detective Emilia Cruz inside Mexico's Drug War

ROME, N.Y., July 16, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Carmen Amato, author of the explosive Emilia Cruz mystery series, is pleased to announce a new book release. "Diablo Nights" is the third installment in the Emilia Cruz mystery series set in Acapulco.

In "Diablo Nights," the deadly combination of a religious relic and a cruise ship murder victim propel Emilia Cruz, Acapulco's first female police detective, into a maze of cartel smuggling and revenge killings. The relic, from Mexico's 1920's Cristero War, initially points toward a gruesome kidnapping case while the cruise ship body is laced with Ora Ciega, a rare heroin strain from Colombia. These developments lead Emilia and her police detective colleagues to anticipate more drug war violence for Acapulco's already bloody streets. Yet Emilia is pulled away from the investigations to train a rookie detective with friends in high places.

"It takes a thief to catch a thief," is an offhand comment Emilia makes at the beginning of the novel. But as the destinies of Ora Ciega, the rookie, and a dark secret from Emilia's past converge into a shocking climax, the truth behind her words becomes only too apparent.

The previous two Emilia Cruz mystery novels, "Cliff Diver" and "Hat Dance" are among the top rated books in both the Hispanic fiction and international mystery genres.

In addition to the police procedural novels, an Emilia Cruz story, "The Beast," was featured on the Huffington Post's Fiction 50 showcase last year, and two Emilia Cruz stories are available on

"Diablo Nights" is currently available in Kindle format. The paperback edition will be released in August 2014.

For interviews or to request an ARC, please contact the author at To learn more about Carmen Amato and the newest Emilia Cruz novel, please visit either the Amazon book page or the author website.

About Carmen Amato:

In addition to political thriller The Hidden Light of Mexico City, Carmen Amato is the author of the Emilia Cruz mystery series set in Acapulco, including Cliff Diver, Hat Dance and the collection of short stories Made in Acapulco. For more information, please visit


Carmen Amato

©2012 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.