KCTV5 earns two Edward R. Murrow Awards - KCTV5

KCTV5 earns two Edward R. Murrow Awards

Posted: Updated:

KCTV5 News has earned two regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

The station received awards for Best 10 p.m. Newscast and Continuing Coverage. KCTV5 News earned the Continuing Coverage award for its series of investigations detailing ongoing issues at the Kansas City Water Department. The investigation not only exposed major problems but also helped save residents millions of dollars in water bills.

"Our news team is continually striving to bring the stories that matter most to the people of Kansas City," said Larry Perret, KCTV5 news director. "Winning an Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Newscast is a great example of the commitment of our people. From producers and photographers to reporters and anchors, our entire team contributed."

The Edward R. Murrow Awards are presented by The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA). The awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world.

"The Murrow Awards honor journalism at its finest," said Mike Cavender, executive director of RTDNA. "Local newsrooms serve their communities 365 days a year, and we're proud to recognize the great work they do."

KCTV5 will now advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Award competition. National winners will be announced on Oct. 6 in New York City.

Copyright 2014 KCTV (Meredith Corp.) All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.