Kansas City awarded 14 NCAA championships - KCTV5

Kansas City awarded 14 NCAA championships

Posted: Updated:

The NCAA made a big announcement Wednesday - 14 different championships will be decided in the Kansas City metro over 2014-2017.

The Sprint Center and Sporting Park are the magnets as the NCAA awarded volleyball, soccer and football championship games to the area.

"I'm shaking, I'm very excited. It's a little overwhelming to think we were just awarded 14 championships across all different sports, across all different divisions. It's pretty amazing," said Kathy Nelson, the president of the Kansas City Sports Commission.

Of the 21 host opportunities, the following championships were awarded to Kansas City: Division I Women's Volleyball (2017); Division I Men's Soccer (2015); Division II Football (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017); Division II Men's and Women's Soccer (2016 and 2017); Division III Men's & Women's Soccer (2014 and 2015). Division II Football and Division I Men's Soccer will be played at Sporting Park. Division II and III Men's and Women's Soccer will be played at the new Swope Soccer Village. Division I Women's Volleyball and Division I Wrestling will be played at the Sprint Center.

Kansas City is in the process of bidding on the Division I Women's Basketball Final Four, which will be announced in the fall of 2014.  Future Division I Men's Basketball preliminary rounds will be out for bid late 2014.

Copyright 2013 KCTV (Meredith Corp.) All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.