Hours extended for 2 Johnson County driver's license offices - KCTV5

Hours extended for 2 Johnson County driver's license offices

Posted: Updated:

The state of Kansas has extended the hours of operation for the two driver's license offices in Johnson County.

The Mission and Olathe offices are now open 7 a.m. to 7:45 p.m. Monday through Thursday. The Friday hours are 7 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. The Monday hours were added earlier this year.

Driving tests will not be administered after 5 p.m., but all other services including renewals and written tests are available. Additional staff are now working at the two Johnson County offices. Altogether, Kansas has added 25 employees across the state to meet demands.

The additional hours are part of pilot project that Kansas Department of Revenue officials hope is well received.

Kevin McCosh welcomes the additions.

"Some of us have to take an entire day off in order to come here and stand in line and wait," he said.

Nick Jordan, director of the Department of Revenue, said the pilot project will make those complaints a thing of the past. He said the goal is to get patrons in and out quickly and "that they are served well."

The pilot program will be in place through May. The hope is the staff will be used to their hours and the changes so that the spring rush goes smoothly.

Copyright 2013 KCTV (Meredith Corp.) All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.