KU legend Danny Manning named to NCAA 75th anniversary team - KCTV5 News

KU legend Danny Manning named to NCAA 75th anniversary team

Posted: Updated:

Kansas men's basketball legend Danny Manning was named to the NCAA's All-Time Players Team tipping off the celebration of the 75th Final Four Friday.

The NCAA will honor the all-time team – the 1975-76 Indiana Hoosiers – and the all-time moment – Duke's Christian Laettner's game-winning shot against Kentucky in the 1992 East Regional final — at halftime of the Wichita State-Louisville national semifinal on Saturday night.

The 15 all-time players will be recognized at halftime of the Syracuse-Michigan semifinal on Saturday night. Manning is joined by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (UCLA), Larry Bird (Indiana State), Bill Bradley (Princeton), Patrick Ewing (Georgetown), Grant Hill (Duke), Earvin "Magic" Johnson (Michigan State), Michael Jordan (North Carolina), Christian Laettner (Duke), Jerry Lucas (Ohio State), Hakeem Olajuwon (Houston), Oscar Robertson (Cincinnati), Bill Russell (San Francisco), Bill Walton (UCLA) and Jerry West (West Virginia).

"Danny and the Miracles" were Kansas' 1998 championship team, and Manning remains the Jayhawks' all-time leading scorer (2,951 points) and rebounder (1,187 boards). Named the Naismith College Player of the Year in 1988, Manning was an assistant coach at Kansas in 2008 when the Jayhawks also won the NCAA Championship. Manning, who also participated in KU's 1986 Final Four run with both appearances under coach Larry Brown, is currently the head coach at Tulsa.

The all-time team and moment were selected by fan voting. The players' roster was chosen by members of the U.S. Basketball Writers Association; the College Sports Information Directors of America; the National Association of Basketball Coaches; current and former members of the NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Committee; the Final Four Coaches Club; and NCAA media partners.

Copyright 2013 KCTV (Meredith Corp.)  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.