The American flag and its protocol - KCTV5 News

The American flag and its protocol

© Stockbyte / Thinkstock © Stockbyte / Thinkstock

Courtesy of

The Flag of the United States of America is a symbol of freedom and liberty to which Americans pledge their allegiance. It consists of thirteen alternating red and white stripes and fifty white stars on a blue field, with each star representing a state.

The colors on the flag represent:

  • Red: valor and bravery
  • White: purity and innocence
  • Blue: vigilance, perseverance, and justice

June 14 is Flag Day, and the week in which June 14 occurs is National Flag Week, which encourages Americans to display the flag outside their homes and businesses. Although Flag Day is not a federal holiday, Americans everywhere continue to honor the history and heritage (PDF document) it represents.

As a national symbol, there are certain guidelines for displaying the flag of the United States (PDF document). If you require additional information or direction on the federal level with regard to flag protocol, please call the Ceremonials Division of the Department of State's Office of Protocol at 1.202.647.1735.

Additional Resources:

*DISCLAIMER*: The information contained in or provided through this site section is intended for general consumer understanding and education only and is not intended to be and is not a substitute for professional advice. Use of this site section and any information contained on or provided through this site section is at your own risk and any information contained on or provided through this site section is provided on an "as is" basis without any representations or warranties.
Powered by Frankly
KCTV 5 News

Online Public File:

Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KCTV; Kansas City, MO. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.